Frances Klock

First Woman to Chair a Committee

Rep. Frances Klock was one of the three who were the first women to serve in the Colorado legislature, making them the first women to serve in any state legislature in the country. Rep. Klock was the first woman to chair a committee when she took charge of the Indian and Veteran Affairs Committee. She was also the first woman to preside over a state legislature.

With women in the legislature, decorum did change a bit. Early in the session, Rep. Klock protested offensive language used on the floor of the House during debate about a provision for separate sleeping accommodations for jury members. The women legislators also insisted on enforcement of the rules against lobbyists on the floor and smoking in the chamber.

Rep. Klock introduced legislation establishing the County of Cripple Creek, a state home for “friendless and incorrigible” girls, a constitutional amendment for suffrage and elections, payment of certificates issued the National Guard, and a joint resolution asking Congress to cede Ft. Lyons to Colorado to be used as a Soldiers and Sailors Home.

Colorado General Assembly Biographical Information

Joint Resolution honoring first women in state legislature


Note: The information on this page is made available through the generosity of the Colorado Legislative Women’s Caucus, which has asked us to preserve, maintain and promote information they gathered.

Recent Facebook Posts

Strong Sisters has added important historical information to our website,, including a comprehensive list of women who..

6 likes, 0 comments1 week ago



We are grateful for generous Strong Sisters sponsors:
The BNSF Railway Foundation
The Colorado Office of Film Television & Media
Richard J. & Margaret Kruizenga
Derek & Sylvia Kruizenga
Colorado Institute for Leadership Training
Meg Froelich
David & Sue Hoeppner
Laura Hoeppner & Kevin Singel
Rudy & Alice Ramsey Foundation
Cynda Collins Arsenault
Jana Cytrynbaum
Barbara Lee
Jay Newberg & Mary Cowen
Judi Wagner
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Deborah Beckman
Colorado Hospital Association
Hoerner Mowry Law Offices
Elizabeth W. Killebrew
Ronald & Sally Kinnamon
Polly Loewy
Lynne & Jon Montague-Clouse
Karen Onderko
Tami Paumier & Glen Warren
Carrie Warren-Gully
Rep. Ruth Wright

(see the Donate page for a full list of Sponsors)