Women who served in the Colorado Senate

Last Name First Name County Years of Service Party
Robinson Helen R. Denver 1913-1916 D
Riddle Agnes L. Denver 1917-1920 R
Smith Eudochia Bell Denver 1941-1946 D
Wilson Hestia Dolores, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel 1958-1962 D
Finley Thelma S. Rio Grande, Saguache, Conejos, Mineral 1959-1960 D
Saunders Allegra Denver 1959-1962, 1967-1970 D
Taylor Rena Mary Mesa 1959-1962 R
Stockton Ruth S. Jefferson 1965-1984 R
Ball Roseanne Denver 1973-1974 R
Darby Lorena Boulder 1973-1976 D
Holme Barbara S. Arapahoe, Denver 1975-1984 D
Baca Barragan (name changed later to “Baca”) Pauline “Polly” Adams 1979-1986 D
Ezzard Martha M. Arapahoe 1981-1987 R
Arnold Kathy Spelts Jefferson 1983-1986 R
Traylor Claire Jefferson 1983-1994 R
Mendez Jana Boulder 1985-1994 D
Hopper Sally Boulder, Clear Creek, Eagle, Gilpin, Jefferson, Pitkin, Summit 1987-1998 R
Wham Dorothy (Dottie) Arapahoe, Denver 1994-2000 R
Allison Bonnie Jefferson 1989-1992 R
Pascoe Pat Arapahoe, Denver 1989-2002 D
Tebedo Mary Anne El Paso, Teller 1989-2000 R
Johnson Joan Adams 1991-1998 D
Lacy Elsie Arapahoe 1993-2000 R
Powers Linda Chaffee, Delta, Fremont, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Lake, Park, Pitkin 1993-1996 D
Bandy Amanda Archuleta, Delta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, San Juan, San Miguel 1994 D
Tanner Gloria Travis Denver 1994-2000 D
Dennis Ginette “Gigi” Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Custer, Huerfano, Las Animas, Mineral, Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache 1995-2001 R
Rupert Dorothy Boulder 1995-2000 D
Reeves Peggy Larimer 1997-2004 D
Anderson Norma Jefferson 1999-2005 R
Epps Mary Ellen El Paso 1999-2002 R
Musgrave Marilyn Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, Yuma 1999-2002 R
Nichol Alice Adams 1999-2004 D
Fitz-Gerald Joan Boulder, Clear Creek, Gilpin, Jefferson, Summit 2001-2007 D
Hanna Deanna Jefferson 2001-2006 D
Takis Stephanie Adams 2001-2008 D
Windels Sue Jefferson 2001-2008 D
Keller Maryanne Jefferson 2003-2010 D
Sandoval Paula E. Denver 2003-2010 D
Veiga Jennifer Adams, Denver 2003-2009 D
Spence Nancy Arapahoe 2005-2012 R
Tochtrop Lois Adams 2005-2014 D
Williams Suzanne Arapahoe, Denver 2005-2012 D
Boyd Betty Jefferson 2006-2012 D
Traylor Kiki Jefferson 2006 R
Schwartz Gail Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Mineral, Pitkin, Rio Grande, Saguache 2007-2014 D
Carroll Morgan Arapahoe 2009-2016 D
Foster Joyce Denver 2009-2012 D
Hodge Mary Adams 2009-2016 D
Hudak Evie Jefferson 2009-2013 D
Newell Linda Arapahoe, Jefferson 2009-2016 D
Aguilar Irene Denver 2011-2018 D
Giron Angela Pueblo 2010-2013 D
Guzman Lucia Denver 2010-2018 D
Jahn Cheri Jefferson 2011-2018 D
Nicholson Jean Boulder, Clear Creek, Denver, Gilpin,Grand, Jefferson, Summit 2011-2014 D
Roberts Ellen Archuleta, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan 2011-2016 R
White Jean Eagle, Garfield, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt 2011-2012 R
Marble Vicki Broomfield, Larimer, Weld 2013-2018 R
Todd Nancy Arapahoe 2013-2018 D
Zenzinger Rachel Jefferson 2013-2018 D
Donovan Kerry Chaffee, Delta, Eagle, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Lake, Pitkin 2015-2018 D
Martinez-Humenik Beth Adams 2015-2018 R
Woods Laura Jefferson 2015-2016 R
Court Lois Arapahoe, Denver 2009-2016 D
Fields Rhonda Arapahoe 2017-2018 D
Williams Angela Denver 2017-2018 D

Note: This page is made available through the generosity of the Colorado Legislative Women’s Caucus, which has asked us to preserve, maintain and promote information they gathered.

Recent Facebook Posts


Strong Sisters has added important historical information to our website, http://www.strongsisters.org, including a comprehensive list of women who..

6 likes, 0 comments1 week ago



We are grateful for generous Strong Sisters sponsors:
The BNSF Railway Foundation
The Colorado Office of Film Television & Media
Richard J. & Margaret Kruizenga
Derek & Sylvia Kruizenga
Colorado Institute for Leadership Training
Meg Froelich
David & Sue Hoeppner
Laura Hoeppner & Kevin Singel
Rudy & Alice Ramsey Foundation
Cynda Collins Arsenault
Jana Cytrynbaum
Barbara Lee
Jay Newberg & Mary Cowen
Judi Wagner
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Deborah Beckman
Colorado Hospital Association
Hoerner Mowry Law Offices
Elizabeth W. Killebrew
Ronald & Sally Kinnamon
Polly Loewy
Lynne & Jon Montague-Clouse
Karen Onderko
Tami Paumier & Glen Warren
Carrie Warren-Gully
Rep. Ruth Wright

(see the Donate page for a full list of Sponsors)