Timeline

This timeline includes some highlights in the history of elected women in Colorado. A large copy of the timeline could be posted in the classroom so that students can add additional events — other women who served, events that were happening at the same time, significant legislation sponsored by women on the timeline, etc.

- 1893: Colorado became the first state to give women the right to vote through a popular election.
- 1894: Women voted in a statewide election in Colorado for the first time. Three women were elected to the Colorado House of Representatives.
- 1895: Colorado swore in the first women to serve in any state legislature: Clara Cressingham, Carrie Holly and Frances Klock.
- 1910: Dr. Elizabeth Cassidy became a Denver County Commissioner. Some sources say she was the nation's first female county commissioner.
- 1912: Helen Ring Robinson became the first woman elected to the state Senate.
- 1955: Elizabeth Eyre Pellet became the first woman to serve in a major leadership position in the state legislature (minority leader).
- 1967: Virginia Blue became the first woman to serve as Colorado State Treasurer
- 1971: Betty Benavidez became first Latina to serve in the state legislature.
- 1972: Pat Schroeder was the first Colorado woman elected to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Mary Estill Buchanan became the first women to serve as Colorado's Secretary of State.

- 1973: Arie Taylor became the first African American woman to serve in the state legislature.
- 1979: Ruth Stockton became the first female Senate President pro tem. Nancy Dick was the first woman to serve as Lieutenant Governor.
- 1985: Polly Baca became the first Latina to serve in leadership in the state Senate.
- 1990: Gail Norton elected the first woman to serve as Attorney General.
- 1997: Norma Anderson became the first woman to serve as Majority Leader in the House.
- 2003: Lola Spradley became the first woman to serve as Speaker of the House. Norma Anderson became the first woman to serve as Majority Leader in the Senate.
- 2005: Joan Fitz-Gerald became the first woman to serve as the President of the Senate.