Allegra Saunders

Allegra Saunders (D, Denver) served in the State Senate from 1959 to 1962, took a break from the Senate, during which she served on the Denver Board of Education, then was elected to the Senate again and served from 1967 to 1970. In 1969 and 1970 Saunders was the Senate Minority Caucus leader. Prior to serving in the Senate, Saunders was on the State Board of Education from 1951 to 1958 and was the Director of Girls State in 1955.

Even as recently as 1970, Colorado female Senators had to stand up for equal treatment. In 1970, Saunders was serving as a member of the Senate Natural Resources Committee. The committee was invited to tour a mine, but Saunders was told, “Lady Legislators are welcome on the trip but are not allowed in the mine.” Saunders challenged the restriction, went on the trip to the mine, and when she got to the mine she was told by the miners that it was “city-slickers” who perpetuated a superstition about women being taboo in Colorado mines and tunnels.

Colorado General Assembly Biographical Information

Denver Post article: Sen. Saunders suggested dropping “Where the Columbines Grow” as the state song


Note: The information on this page is made available through the generosity of the Colorado Legislative Women’s Caucus, which has asked us to preserve, maintain and promote information they gathered.

Recent Facebook Posts

Strong Sisters has added important historical information to our website,, including a comprehensive list of women who..

6 likes, 0 comments1 week ago



We are grateful for generous Strong Sisters sponsors:
The BNSF Railway Foundation
The Colorado Office of Film Television & Media
Richard J. & Margaret Kruizenga
Derek & Sylvia Kruizenga
Colorado Institute for Leadership Training
Meg Froelich
David & Sue Hoeppner
Laura Hoeppner & Kevin Singel
Rudy & Alice Ramsey Foundation
Cynda Collins Arsenault
Jana Cytrynbaum
Barbara Lee
Jay Newberg & Mary Cowen
Judi Wagner
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Deborah Beckman
Colorado Hospital Association
Hoerner Mowry Law Offices
Elizabeth W. Killebrew
Ronald & Sally Kinnamon
Polly Loewy
Lynne & Jon Montague-Clouse
Karen Onderko
Tami Paumier & Glen Warren
Carrie Warren-Gully
Rep. Ruth Wright

(see the Donate page for a full list of Sponsors)