History of Colorado’s Elected Women

History of Women in the Colorado Legislature

Women who served in the Colorado House of Representatives

Women who served in the Colorado Senate

Key dates:

  • In 1893 Colorado became the first state to give women the right to vote through a popular election. Obviously, that means a majority of male voters chose to give women the right to vote. Having the right to vote set the stage for women to run for public office.
  • In 1894, during the first statewide election that allowed women to vote in Colorado, three women were elected to the Colorado House of Representatives. These were the first women to serve in any state legislature in the United States.
  • In 1895 Colorado swore in the first women to serve in any state legislature. Joining the state House of Representatives were: Clara Cressingham, Carrie Holly and Frances Klock.
  • Dr. Elizabeth Cassidy became a Denver County Commissioner in 1910. Some sources say she was the nation’s first female county commissioner. Prior to becoming county commissioner, Dr. Cassidy served as the county physician. A contemporary historian wrote: “Her efforts and influence are always on the side of progress, reform and improvement.”
  • In 1912 Helen Ring Robinson became the first woman elected to the state Senate.
  • During the first 50 years that women were able to vote and serve in public office in Colorado (1895-1945), 30 women served in the House and three served in the Senate. During the next 50 years (1945-1994), 101 women served in the House and 23 women served in the Senate. Since 1995, 115 women have served in the state House and 47 women have served in the state Senate. (numbers won’t add up to the 266 that have served due to overlaps in years)


Recent Facebook Posts


Strong Sisters has added important historical information to our website, http://www.strongsisters.org, including a comprehensive list of women who..

6 likes, 0 comments1 week ago



We are grateful for generous Strong Sisters sponsors:
The BNSF Railway Foundation
The Colorado Office of Film Television & Media
Richard J. & Margaret Kruizenga
Derek & Sylvia Kruizenga
Colorado Institute for Leadership Training
Meg Froelich
David & Sue Hoeppner
Laura Hoeppner & Kevin Singel
Rudy & Alice Ramsey Foundation
Cynda Collins Arsenault
Jana Cytrynbaum
Barbara Lee
Jay Newberg & Mary Cowen
Judi Wagner
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Deborah Beckman
Colorado Hospital Association
Hoerner Mowry Law Offices
Elizabeth W. Killebrew
Ronald & Sally Kinnamon
Polly Loewy
Lynne & Jon Montague-Clouse
Karen Onderko
Tami Paumier & Glen Warren
Carrie Warren-Gully
Rep. Ruth Wright

(see the Donate page for a full list of Sponsors)