Norma Anderson

First Woman Majority Leader in the Senate

Norma Anderson, a Republican from Lakewood, served in the state House from 1987 to 1998, and then served in the state Senate from 1999 to 2005. While in the House, Representative Anderson was the House Majority Leader in 1997 and 1998. While in the Senate, she served as Co-majority Leader in 2003 and 2004, thus making her the first woman to serve as Majority Leader in the Senate. She then served as the Senate Minority Caucus Chair in 2005 and she served as the Minority Leader during the summer of 2005.

During her 19 years as a member of the Colorado General Assembly, Senator Anderson sponsored important legislation,  including a bill which created the Colorado Department of Transportation. She also authored the School Finance Act of 1994 which provided more equal funding to each school district.

Senator Anderson is regarded as a legislator who was a strategic thinker, fair, and honest. She demonstrated legislative skill, not taking the process personally, and an ability to garner friendship and respect from both sides of the aisle.

Senator Anderson has served her community on numerous boards, including as Vice-Chair of the Great Outdoors Colorado Board. Anderson is a past member of the National Council of State Legislators Executive Committee and the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Panel on Higher Education, and she is the recipient of more than 70 recognitions and awards.

While Anderson had an exceptional career in the legislature and earned the deep respect of those who worked with her, upon her selection as Majority Leader Westword magazine noted that she didn’t have a stuffy decorating sense to go along with her serious title. Westword noted that she brought to her new office the same artistic masterpiece that used to grace her place in the Colorado House: a 13-by-19-inch velvet Elvis, complete with a single tear rolling down his cheek.

More information about Norma Anderson:

Colorado General Assembly Biographical Information


Note: The information on this page is made available through the generosity of the Colorado Legislative Women’s Caucus, which has asked us to preserve, maintain and promote information they gathered.

Recent Facebook Posts

Strong Sisters has added important historical information to our website,, including a comprehensive list of women who..

6 likes, 0 comments1 week ago



We are grateful for generous Strong Sisters sponsors:
The BNSF Railway Foundation
The Colorado Office of Film Television & Media
Richard J. & Margaret Kruizenga
Derek & Sylvia Kruizenga
Colorado Institute for Leadership Training
Meg Froelich
David & Sue Hoeppner
Laura Hoeppner & Kevin Singel
Rudy & Alice Ramsey Foundation
Cynda Collins Arsenault
Jana Cytrynbaum
Barbara Lee
Jay Newberg & Mary Cowen
Judi Wagner
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Deborah Beckman
Colorado Hospital Association
Hoerner Mowry Law Offices
Elizabeth W. Killebrew
Ronald & Sally Kinnamon
Polly Loewy
Lynne & Jon Montague-Clouse
Karen Onderko
Tami Paumier & Glen Warren
Carrie Warren-Gully
Rep. Ruth Wright

(see the Donate page for a full list of Sponsors)